University Staff Council Meeting Minutes Tuesday, June 20, 2023 1:30 - 3:30 pm

General Services Center Room 101 B&C

I. Call to Order: Sarah Franke

II. Roll Call of Members

Members Present: Sharon Alderete, Agatha Alonso, Cynthia Billington, Gloria Brecht, Michelle Brown-Link, Alex Howard, Carria Collins, Sarah Franke, Catherine Halverson, Erin Hinojosa, Katelynn Kellogg, Kat McLelland, Marcos Mendez, Kam Owen, Martha Parker, LaTia Wilson, Tracy Posey, Brittany Ramsey, Katie St. Clair, Stephanie Thompson, Robin Williamson, Bree Wright, Sally Yang, Mo Younes, Tamra Young, Tracy Young Members Absent: BB Barron-Gaytan, Lori Bienski, Jennifer Bradford, Sandra Church, Kari DeStefano, Kaitlyn Middlebrooks, Hope Mireles, Clint Patterson, Pam Praesel, Crystal Riles, Juan Rodriguez,

III. Approval of Minutes

• May 2023- send to be approved at the July meeting.

IV. Treasurer's Report - Carria Collins

- Balance First of June-\$6,545.63
- Expenses for May
 - \$177.74 Advertising
 - o \$1.80 Mail Services
- Total expenses for May \$179.54

V. Update from Meeting with Vice President of Human Resources - Sarah Franke

- We discussed the financial state of Staff Emergency Fund and the need to continue fundraising efforts.
- We discussed the proposed amendment to the name and mission of the Inclusion, Equality & Respect in the Workplace committee.

VI. USC Staff Inquiries - LaTia Wilson

- Have officially rolled out the new SharePoint ticketing system.
- There is a link for both internal and external inquiries on the USC website.
- No new inquiries were received.

VII. USC Committees Updates

1. Branch Campus Committee - Tracey Posey/Stephanie Thompson

2. Communications & Outreach Committee - Pam Praesel

No Update

3. Elections Committee- Marcos Mendez

- Vice Chair- LaTia Wilson
- Secretary- Kat McLelland

- Treasurer- Tracy Posey
- Parliamentary- Katelyn Kellogg
- Chair nominations- Marcos Mendez, Tamra Young, Kat McLelland, Martha Parker, Katelyn Kellogg
- If you would like to have your name removed from the ballot, please let Marcos know. If you are interested in nominating yourself, email Marcos as well.

4. Inclusion, Equity, and Respect in the Workplace Committee- Sharon Alderete

- <u>COMMITTEE NAME</u>: Community Engagement and Respect in the Workplace
- <u>MISSION</u>: To engage staff in fostering a culture of respect for all people who work for and visit Texas A&M University.
 - 1. To cultivate a workplace community where all feel welcomed and valued.
 - 2. To fulfill the need for a united campus-wide staff effort to align with Texas A&M's mission and the Aggie Core Values.
 - 3. To collaborate with representative divisions and appropriate committees to ensure initiatives are aligned with the university's strategic plan and related objectives.

5. Professional Development Committee - Erin Hinojosa

- We have scheduled out through the summer the Common Grounds
 - June- Les Williams
 - o July- Ed Pierson
 - August- Greg Hartman

6. Staff Emergency Fund - Kari DeStefano/Tracy Young

7. Work Life and Benefits Committee - Juan Rodriguez

No update

VIII. External Committee Appointments:

A. Task Force for Campus Emergencies - Tracey Posey

a. No Update

B. System Employee Benefits Advisory Committee - Juan Rodriguez

- a. 65 Plus Plan is changing effective January 1, 2024
- b. Fertility will be covered in the new plan year effective September 1, 2024
- c. Emergency room copayment structure
 - i. \$150.00 1-3 times
 - ii. \$250.00 4-5 times
 - iii. \$350.00 6+ times
 - iv. This is a copayment that does not go towards the deductible.
 - v. This copayment applies to each person covered on the health plan.

C. Transportation Safety Advisory Committee - Tamra Young & Katelynn Kellogg

a. No update

- D. Diversity Operations Committee Marcos Mendez
 - a. No update
- E. Dining Services Committee Tracey Posey
 - a. No update
- F. Facilities Stakeholder Advisory Panel Robin Williamson
 - a. No update
- G. Operations Review Committee Sarah Franke / Kat McLelland / Sally Yang / Cindy Billington
 - a. No Update
- IX. Special Guest Martha Alexander HROE Assistant Director of Benefits Services
- X. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn- Katelyn Kellogg 2nd- Catherine Halverson

XI. Common Grounds - Les Williams - Vice President of Facilities and Energy Services

Next meeting: July 18, 2023, in GSC Room 101 from 8:45 - 10:45 am